top of page

Broken

Laying there face down on the cold hardened concrete, it was a stark contrast to the freedom of the air rushing around me only 20 seconds before. Self evaluating, trying to make sense of the last 15 seconds which led me to where I was - nothing, a blur. Moments ago I was on my motorcycle destined for the twisty roads of the west end, an attempt to salvage what was left of the riding season. What had gone wrong? Collecting my thoughts I knew with what little first aid knowledge I had that it was in my best interest not to move and await for help.

That day started as any regular day, I awoke to a beautifully warm fall glow. The sun was shining and spirits were high as I knew the winter was slowly approaching. The work day had gone by rather uneventful, I had just gotten my bike back from the mechanics a week prior and my mind was occupied with taking her out all day. Eventually as the day had slowly strung out I decided to leave a bit early to get what would be my last ride on my favourite bike.

I had gotten home to her waiting patiently in the garage, a beautiful piece of machinery she was - a 2008 KTM duke 690, single cylinder, powder coated orange rims with a look that turned heads wherever we rode. Like most good things she came with her quirks, not rare to KTM I had had engine problems a few weeks prior and it had been in the shop having a rebuild done. I had rode it once since I got it back and was excited to give her the much needed love she craved. Gearing up, I was always an advocate for "dress for the crash, not for the ride" - I slipped into my spine protector, pulled on my one piece leather suit slithering into the form fitting gear, dawned my gloves and helmet I was ready, almost feeling as a knight ready for battle, or like a power ranger from the 90's...

I threw my leg over the seat, fired the electric start button with my right thumb - The sound of her coming alive was music to my ears, a strong deep hum as the large cylinder thumped at 1500 revolutions per minute. As I let the torquey engine warm up its inner workings I was thinking of the route I was planning to take. I decided rather quickly the appropriately named Snake Rd was my destination.

Kicking the kickstand from under the beautiful orange coated trellis frame, I pulled in the clutch, kicked the gear box down into first gear and was off down my driveway grinning already. The feeling of riding is one so tough to explain, the freedom you have and feel - it's hard to be replicated and is only understood by others that share the passion. It was approaching 5pm and I knew the highway would be full of commuters rushing to get home from a long days work - not an ideal position to be in on a motorcycle. I opted to take the toll highway which would get me to my destination quicker and be less congested at this time of day. I entered the 410 at Derry road with just a short stint of highway until I would reach the safer more open 407. Feeling the wind against my body, the sun shining against my black leathers warming me as I rode, I was in complete heaven - but that would soon come to an abrupt end.

As I approached the on ramp for the 407 you're placed which the option of 1 of 2 lanes. The right lane leading to the 407 West, the left to the East. The 2 lanes running parallel to one another, mine being open and free to roam. To the left lane in front of me en-route to the eastbound ramp was a large transport truck, thinking nothing of it I continued on my path approaching the large right curved ramp only a few hundred meters ahead of me. As the lanes parted destined for their opposite directions the truck had made a last minute maneuver cutting across the painted highway division only feet ahead of me into my lane, as I quickly approached the back of the truck I had only seconds to determine my next course of action.

I determined due to the last minute lane shift it didn't give me enough room to safely apply an emergency braking procedure which in turn would either lock up my wheels and toss me off into the truck or not being able to slow down enough and collide with the back of the trailer. Both options not seemingly ideal having very little protection around me it was a David vs. Goliath situation with the odds being greatly outweighed in my favour. I had to think fast, how could I avoid being another statistic - another victim to careless driving... I was in the left tire track (otherwise known as the "blocking position" in the lane) and I had seen there was a small shoulder to the left of the painted lane marker that would fit my bike and just that. I steered to the left of the quickly approaching truck trailer onto the shoulder that unbeknownst to me tapered off in a triangle shaped manner. At the point I was beside the trailer trying to slowdown enough to safely avoid the situation but the concrete below me was quickly running out. The last thought I remember thinking was how close the trailer was to my right shoulder as it was hugging the right side of the left painted lane marker.

What happened next was all a blur, 2 and a half years later I can only speculate based on the injuries and the damage to my gear. It seems as though in trying to avoid hitting the side of the truck the bike washed off the drop off on the left of the shoulder which pushed me right into the side of the trailer - being in front of the axles of the trailer and the rubber left on my suit we believe the tires rolled over my lower back crushing my pelvis in the process and leaving a hairline fracture in my lower spine. The doctors believe if I hadn't been wearing my back protector injuries to my spine would have been extremely severe.

Spending 3 weeks in two different hospitals I was finally released to go home. I took my first steps on December 19th and was back to work on January 12th (albeit against doctors' orders). My first ride back on a bike was January 22nd (mind you just around the block). That season I decided I would ride again, not to let the accident ruin my passion for 2 wheels. I bought a new ride almost as gorgeous as the KTM and rode it everywhere I could.

It's been a bumpy road since that October, gaining weight, learning to walk again and having to reassure myself I was ready and able to get back to my normal life. A lot has been put into perspective since, it's reassured me not to sweat the small stuff - enjoy what life has to offer because you never know when it'll come to an abrupt end!

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page